Oakville Mayor Rob Burton Re-elected for Fourth Term

Under Oakville News

Written by

Written on October 23rd, 2018

Congratulations to Rob Burton re-elected as Mayor of Oakville and all regional and local councillors, particularly Bronte area councillors: newcomer Beth Robertson elected for Ward 1 Councillor along with incumbent Sean O’Meara as Regional and Ward 1 Councillor. Cathy Duddeck re-elected Regional and Ward 2 Councillor and Ray Chisholm re-elected Ward 2 Councillor.

Inside Halton – Graham Paine / Metroland

Holding off a strong challenge from Julia Hanna, Rob Burton retained the Oakville mayor seat, winning by roughly 3,500 votes.

Oakville incumbent Sean O’Meara took the Ward 1 town’s ward 1 regional seat handily at Monday’s municipal election, winning the job with 82 per cent of the vote. It was the most drastic win in the Oakville council race, in a riding with comparatively high voter turnout of nearly 10,000 people.

All of the incumbents who previously sat on both Oakville town council and Halton regional council will resume their seats, including Ward 2 regional councillor Cathy Duddeck, Ward 3 regional councillor Dave Gittings, Ward 4’s Allan Elgar, Ward 5’s Jeff Knoll and Ward 6 regional councillor Tom Adams. In the new Ward 7, which saw less than 2,000 voters in total, Pavan Parmar appears to have secured the regional seat by 68 votes.

The incumbents did well in the council-only races as well. Ray Chisholm, Peter Longo, Marc Grant and Natalia Lishchyna will reprise their roles on town council. Janet Haslett-Theall took Ward 3 from incumbent Nick Hutchins, and newcomer Beth Robertson won the wide-open race in Ward 1. In the new Ward 7, Jasvinder Sandhu is the winner by a margin of 19 votes.